Re: M27 and filters: It's the colors, Dumbbell!

Pete Lardizabal

On Aug 5, 2022, at 6:10 PM, Pete Lardizabal <p14@...> wrote:

Hi Robert!

We can rely upon you or your wife for color discrimination over the Pantone color swatch cards?”

Some people have gifted color vision… 

Kim (my Wife) has taken the Farnsworth Munsell 100 Hue Test on multiple occasions and has scored 0 transpositions on two tests and always scored at the “Superior” rating on other tests. I test “Low” with poor resolution ability with respect to anything “green” 🤣.

Reference Standards and Calibrations are a must for commercial work but I’m a hobbyist who shares some works with others. I will check my MacBook Pro monitor for gray scale and have Kim check the “color” here and there. 

On occasion I’ll help out as a backup photographer for a local business but I’ll hand over the RAW files and let them process the files with all the calibrated monitors and certified processing pros to take care of the collected images. 

Usually my at home renderings are pretty close to theirs… but I’m just a processing neophyte who is somewhat color blind having some fun with the hobby. 

😉

Pete

On Aug 5, 2022, at 5:14 PM, ROBERT WYNNE <robert-wynne@...> wrote:

We can rely upon you or your wife for color discrimination over the Pantone color swatch cards? They used to be the standard against which inks were compounded for color printing back in the day.

Apple has done several projects as has Adobe, who vends Photoshop regarding human perception vs realty both for DPI resolution and color shift discrimination by the human eye. I was part of a study that determined human visual cognition of moving objects and their direction regarding velocity and pixel size. Thanks for the interesting post. -Best, Robert
On 08/04/2022 6:01 PM Pete Lardizabal <p14@...> wrote:

I’m someone with a color vision deficiency. Perception verses analytically objective data collection are two different considerations.